Partner agencies

EIF draws engagement from the highest levels of LDC governments, and the programme has significant convening power on the ground, bringing together a variety of stakeholders as well as the financial and technical assistance required to support trade coordination in LDCs.

Partner Agencies ensure that the latest in development thinking is brought to every discussion, and their technical insight and reach ensures the best possible support to LDCs in meeting the challenges of 21st century trade.

World Tourism Organization (UNWTO)

The World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) is the United Nations agency responsible for the promotion of responsible, sustainable and universally accessible tourism. UNWTO promotes tourism as a driver of economic growth, inclusive development and environmental sustainability and offers leadership and support to the sector in advancing knowledge and tourism policies worldwide.

United Nations Industrial Development Organisation (UNIDO)

The United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO) is the specialized agency of the United Nations that promotes industrial development for poverty reduction, inclusive globalization and environmental sustainability.

World Trade Organization (WTO)

The World Trade Organization (WTO) deals with the global rules of trade between nations. Its main function is to ensure that trade flows as smoothly, predictably and freely as possible.

World Bank Group (World Bank)

The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. It provides a unique partnership to reduce poverty and support development. The World Bank Group comprises five institutions managed by their member countries.

United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

The United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) is the UN's global development network advocating for change and connecting countries to knowledge, experience and resources to help people build a better life.

United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)

The United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) is the United Nations body responsible for dealing with development issues, particularly international trade – the main driver of development.

International Trade Centre (ITC)

The International Trade Centre (ITC), is the joint agency of the World Trade Organization and UNCTAD. ITC's aim is for businesses in developing countries to become more competitive in global markets, speeding economic development and contributing to the achievement of the United Nations’ Millennium Development Goals.

International Monetary Fund (IMF)

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 188 countries working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.

Other Strategic Partners

International Telecommunication Union (ITU)

The International Telecommunication Union (ITU) is a Specialized Agency of the United Nations responsible for all matters related to Information and Communication Technologies (ICT).

United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (UNDESA)

The United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (UNDESA) works closely with governments and stakeholders to help countries around the world meet their economic, social and environmental goals. The Committee for Development Policy (CDP) is a subsidiary body of the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC). It consists of a group of 24 independent experts nominated by the UN Secretary General.

Standards and Trade Development Facility (STDF)

The Standards and Trade Development Facility is a global partnership that helps developing countries to gain and maintain access to markets by tackling sanitary and phytosanitary (SPS) gaps, and promoting food safety, animal and plant health. It works to support sustainable economic growth, poverty reduction, food security and environmental protection.

Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)

The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) is the largest regional economic organization in Africa, with 19 member states and a population of about 390 million and an objective of accelerating regional integration for Eastern and Southern Africa.